My Life According to iTunes


Ever wondered what the playlist/soundtrack for “Your Life: The Movie” would sound like? Of course, you have! Me too. So I declare today Random Fun Day on The Moon and we’re going to play The iTunes Shuffle Game!

Those of you who have played before know the fun we’re about to get into. Those of you who haven’t, get ready for some fun.

How To Play: Grab a pen and paper and write down #’s 1 through 18. Open your iTunes to “Music” so your entire library is displayed. Click the Shuffle button. Click Play. Now WITHOUT SKIPPING ANY SONGS, write down the first 18 that play. Once you have the list of 18 songs, label them as follows:

Song #1: Opening Credits

Song #2: Waking Up

Song #3: 1st Day of School

 Song #4: Falling In Love

Song #5: Fight Song

 Song #6: Breaking Up

Song #7: Prom

Song #8: Life

Song #9: Mental Breakdown

Song #10: Driving

Song #11: Flashback

 Song #12: Getting Back Together

 Song #13: Wedding

 Song #14:  Birth of Child

 Song #15: Final Battle

 Song #16: Death Scene

Song #17: Funeral Scene

Song #18: End credits

Now remember: DON’T CHEAT! NO SKIPPING SONGS! That way when you’re done you’ll have laughed out loud, squeed, scratched your head, rolled your eyes, facepalmed more than once and very likely had a whole heckuva lot of fun!

Case in point – and I swear on my “Vampire Diaries”: Season 1 DVD Collection with Bonus Disc that I DID NOT CHEAT. My iTunes are just this awesome. 😀 –  I give you….

*drumroll please*

~My Life According To iTunes~

#1 Opening Credits:  “Too Daze Gone” ~ Billy Squier

Well, OF COURSE “My Life: The Movie” opens with an epic classic rock tune! 😀

 #2 Waking Up:  “No Room To Bleed” ~ Ben Lee

Perfectly mellow for crawling out from under the covers. Excellent. Plus, it reminds me of of the good ol’ days of “Smallville” when I still watched.

#3 1st Day of School:  “Walkin’ On The Sun” ~ Smash Mouth

Can’t say I exactly remember the first day as ‘walkin’ on the sun’.. “but it’s spice for the recipe” 😉

#4 Falling In Love  “High Voltage” ~ AC/DC

Because love absolutely should rock and be high voltage all the way!

#5 Fight Song  “Wild, Wild West” ~ The Escape Club

LOL. Well, at least Ronnie brought a new gun.  

#6 Breaking Up  “All In The Name Of” ~ Motley Crue

Oooookay….so guessing the subject of this song is WHY we broke up. ‘Cause that’s all I got.

#7 Prom  “Heart of Stone” ~ The Rolling Stones

Yay! The Stones at my prom!! What? Yes, of course, they played there live. *this scene is a dream sequence in the movie* 

 #8 Life  “You Got That Right” ~ Lynyrd Skynyrd

Huh? What did you say?  Oh sorry, I was busy ROCKING OUT to my life 😀

#9 Mental Breakdown  “Jackson” ~ Johnny Cash

So wait, I have a mental breakdown in Jackson over a guy? Okay, that scriptwriter has GOT. TO. GO.

#10 Driving  “Looks That Kill” ~ Motley Crue

Ha. Awesome. *drums the dashboard*;)

#11 Flashback “Wild Horses”~ Bush

Acoustic guitar. Gavin Rossdale covering one of my favourite, favourite Stones tunes. I highly approve of this track choice for any scene in my movie. Carry on.

#12 Getting Back Together  “Without You” ~ Motley Crue

Seriously. It’s like iTunes KNOWS me…well, inner teenage-me, anyhow 😉

#13 Wedding  “Wild At Heart” ~ Lee Aaron

ROTFL! Look up the lyrics and you will be too. Too good,  iTunes. Too. good. 

#14 Birth of Child  “Howlin’ For My Baby” ~ George Thorogood & The Destroyers

I actually spit my coffee when this one started playing. Too funny ( and punny) on a plethora of levels for me.

 #15 Final Battle  “Country Honk” ~ The Rolling Stones

Apparently I’ll be going down swingin’ in a bar in Jackson. What is it with me and Jackson?! So did not see that coming… though I probably should have ( see #9) 😉

 #16 Death Scene  “Down So Long” ~ Jewel

Have no idea how I *actually* go down, but I’m envisioning a bittersweet, yet epic montage sequence here.

#17 Funeral Scene  “Hells Bells” ~ AC/DC

Don’t. even. say it. 😛

#18 End credits  “Speak To Me/Breathe In The Air” ~ Pink Floyd

“Long you live and high you fly/ And smiles you’ll give and tears you’ll cry/ And all you touch and all you see
/ Is all your life will ever be.”  * and the audience sways with their lighters lit above their heads as the credits role* So my movie’s music composer DID read all of my letters/sidenotes 🙂

Okay, now it’s YOUR turn! This game is even MORE fun when we all play together so:

If you blog, post your soundtrack on your blog and leave a link in the comment section of this post. If you don’t blog, make a playlist on one of the gazillion sites out there like Playlist.com and post that link in the comments section of this post. Or just comment. Whatever works 😉

Okay then. Ready? Set? PLAY!

9 comments

  1. You wanted mine … well here’s my Life According to iTunes!

    Song #1: Opening Credits “We’re Going To Be Friends” The White Stripes (Oh shite, have I been cast in a remake of Napoleon Dynamite’s? But seriously, I love this song. Happy memories of a good friend and a road trip on 7/7/7!)

    Song #2: Waking Up “Pardon Me” Incubus (I often feel like I’m going to spontaneously combust; I guess in this iTunes version of my life, I wake up by exploding to life each day.)

    Song #3: 1st Day of School “You Don’t Love Me” The Kooks (I guess I’m a bit of a loner with few friends, and the boys I like in school NEVER like me back. Sounds appropriate, and has just the right amount of angst for me on the first day of school.)

     Song #4: Falling In Love “Shiver” Coldplay (Oh yeah, this is the perfect falling in love song. It may be one sided, but it’s still love. A bit stalkerish, but at least it’s not “Every Breath You Take”!)

    Song #5: Fight Song “Uprising” Muse (Never mind a fight, I’m starting a revolution. A cosmic revolution. Get me to my TARDIS … Doctor Who fans will get this … the opening of this song always makes me think of my fave Time Lord!)

     Song #6: Breaking Up “Love Will Tear Us Apart” Joy Division (Need I explain?)

    Song #7: Prom “I Bet You Look Good on the Dance Floor” Arctic Monkeys (Yep, lotsa dancing, sneaking sips of vodka in the girls’ bathroom, and making eyes at boys who can’t dance!)

    Song #8: Life “Chocolate” Snow Patrol (This song is all about living, feeling alive, also about becoming independent from your family & becoming your own person. An excellent song about life!)

    Song #9: Mental Breakdown “Macro” Depeche Mode (“Overflowing senses”, “I feel my blood flow”, “whispering cosmos talking right to me” … yep it’s a breakdown in a song!)

    Song #10: Driving “Friday I’m in Love” The Cure (Driving on a winding, scenic road, with my sister or best friend, singing along at the top of our lungs. This song makes for a great driving scene!)

    Song #11: Flashback “Helicopter” Bloc Party (My flashbacks usually include remembering great concert moments & dancing like a fool to this Bloc Party tune definitely tops my list. I’d definitely want this in a movie about my life.)
     
    Song #12: Getting Back Together “Give a Little Love” Rilo Kiley (Jenny Lewis is an expert on matters of the heart, and sings so beautifully about it. In this movie version of my life, knowing someone so well means you just have to be together.)

     Song #13: Wedding “Down” Stone Temple Pilots (“Pleased to meet you” … I see a drunken drive thru wedding in Vegas. With someone I just met. Mr Soul Mate from the song above decided to bang the blonde down the hall instead!)

     Song #14:  Birth of Child “Sex on Fire” Kings of Leon (Shit, if I hadn’t given into that fire in the first place, I wouldn’t be howling’ in pain now! Next time his sex is on fire, he can take a cold shower!)

     Song #15: Final Battle “Weapon” Matthew Good (Going into battle with an angel on one side, a devil on the other. “Never turn your back on it.” Who am I going into this war with? The Winchester Brothers?!?)

     Song #16: Death Scene “Bad” U2 (Dammit! Finally, some clarity at the end of life, and now I don’t want to surrender to death because I finally understand this thing called life!)

    Song #17: Funeral Scene “Good Riddance (Time of Your Life)” Green Day (I kid you not … the totally cliche song from TV and movie death scenes and proms alike. I end my life with a cliche. Eff me!)

    Song #18: End credits “Right Now” Van Hagar … errr … Halen (So my film ends with an epic 90s rock anthem that was also used in the Crystal Pepsi commercials? But the message of the song is pretty kickass, so I can deal with this!)

  2. Hee. x) Here’s mine!

    Opening Credits: Nickleback – Rockstar. (Um.)
    Waking Up: Pokemon – Gotta Catch ‘Em All
    1st Day At School: Ben E. King – Stand By Me
    Falling In Love: A Fine Frenzy – Stood Up
    Fight Song: Blur – Parklife
    Breaking Up: Tenacious D – Tribute
    Prom: Toby Lightman – Everyday
    Life: Shania Twain – Man, I Feel Like A Woman (Hee.)
    Mental Breakdown: Nickelback – Too Bad
    Driving: U2/Mary J. Blige – One
    Flashback: Glee – Crush
    Getting Back Together: The Labyrinth OST – The Goblin Battle (Bahaha.)
    Wedding: Panic! At The Disco – Nails For Breakfast, Tacks For Snacks
    Birth Of Child: Avenged Sevenfold – Critical Acclaim. (Oh dear.)
    Final Battle: Sugababes – Caught In The Middle (Haha.)
    Death Scene: Lucie Silvas – What You’re Made Of
    Funeral: Sting & The Police – If I Ever Lose My Faith In You
    End Credits: Oasis – Wonderwall

Leave a Reply

