Blame It On Han Solo


It’s true. I confess.

I’m a bit of a bad boy-oholic. Well, at least when it comes to television, that is.

Looking back on the characters that have stolen my heart and buckled my knees over the seasons, the list is undeniably bad boy centric: Dylan (Beverly Hills 90210), Pacey (Dawson’s Creek),  Angel & Spike (Buffy, The Vampire Slayer, Angel ), Sawyer (LOST), Cash (Men In Trees),  Dean (Supernatural),  Damon (The Vampire Diaries) – just to name a few.  So driving to work this morning, mulling over my mental notes for this post, I had to ask myself:

How did I end up with this predisposition for the boys my mother warned me about?

And then it came to me.

Han Solo.

Yep, Han Solo is definitely to blame for this one.

I was only 7 when we first met. There he was, on my parent’s 21” TV screen, this rugged rebel from the wrong side of the galaxy, shielding his heart with his cocky devil-may-care bravado and stealing mine with that smile that promised every bit of forbidden fun I could think of.

Oh, he was trouble alright!

And though my imaginings of forbidden fun were admittedly tame at that age compared to my ‘later years’, there was still something about that Solo character even then that caused a distinctly memorable flutter.

Over the years the Millennium Falcon morphed into motorcycles and hot cars; the intergalactic smuggler into the bad boys next door, a drifter,a demon hunter, even a vampire or three (yes, the list goes on), but there was always a certain Solo-esque something that  drew me to every one of them.

Thanks to Han Solo, there will likely never be a Luke Skywalker, a Dawson Leery, a Stefan Salvatore or Sam Winchester for me. Nope.  No matter how genetically-blessed they keep getting, I have yet to find one of those broody, brow-furrowing, monologue-prone good boys who can hold a candle to my fiesty, actions-speak–louder-than-words trouble-prone bad boys with heart. Indeed this li’l addiction of mine will no doubt have my mind wandering off willingly with the Deans and Damons and Sawyers of TV Land for many seasons yet to come. The bigger half of my heart, however, will always belong to Han.

Afterall, he was my first.

Copyright © 2010 Lee MacOdrum

[tweetmeme source=”leemacodrum” only_single=false]

7 comments

  1. Love this post! So spot on! I was reading your “bad boy list” and it was like reading my own! I always prefer “bad boys” too. 🙂 And you’re right, if I think back, Han Solo is probably the first one that I can remember loving so much. 🙂

  2. I was always into the tortured artist/rich boy with a conscience type of boy as a kid, ie Andrew McCarthy in St Elmo’s Fire, Pretty in Pink, Mannequin. The tortured poet, the misunderstood intellectual. It wasn’t until I was much older that I found the bad boys appealing!

  3. I was ALWAYS more of a bad boy lover too,because let’s face it,compared to boring ol’ good guys ,they always have more depth and honestly they’re just sooo totally much more fun to be around to not to mencion lovable.And i ‘ve loved almost the same characters like you(Angel,Spike,Sawyer(he kind of grew on me more after hottie Boone was killed off the show)Dean ,Damon and many others) i kind of have to disagree on one thing while Dean is just charming bad boy-ish and all that Sam is actually the bad boy of the show..and truth be told i kinda miss innocent cute season 1 Sam.Particulary the one from Scarecrow when he met Meg and he had that killer hair-due that went perfectly with his cute dimples whenever he smiled and trust me i held my fingers crossed and hoped he smiled as often as possible :D…i was a total sucker for Sam then and i really hated what they did with his hair later too.But anyway now i’m definitely more of a Dean lover for all the obvious reasons and no i don’t mean just his hot looks but the fact that just like Damon he showed much more depth than his on-screen brother.

    1. In my defense, when I wrote this Dean was (and still is somewhere deep down in his tortured Winchester soul) more the ‘Han Solo’ of the two and Sam was no ‘bad boy’ at all. Frankly, Sam still isn’t my kind of bad boy; he’s just plain bad – sorry Dean.

      Thank you for posting, Anna 🙂 and welcome to ‘my side’!

Leave a Reply

